top of page

Andrews Trophy Road Race

Joe Brooks (Halesowen C&AC) wins the Andrews Trophy in style

Racing was fast from the outset, with riders lapping the 9.5km course in 12 mins or less. Lap one and a lone rider was making the most of the tailwind up Pan Lane to move away from the bunch. By lap two a small group had broken from the main bunch, and this was the theme until midway through the race when a medium-sized group of around 12 riders formed a break that was to last, gaining time on the main bunch every lap.


By the time they turned into Pan Lane for the uphill finish, one rider, Joe Brooks (Halesowen C&AC) already had a clear lead over from the initial break and was able to celebrate his win in style. The waiting crowd had to wait a further 40+ seconds, to witness the sprint for second place which went to Joshua Avery (Ride Revolution), and third to Oliver Hucks (Kalas Motip).

The full result  is on the British Cycling website, and is listed below:

1st Joe Brooks (Halesowen C&AC); 2nd Joshua Avery (Ride Revolution); 3rd Oliver Hucks (Kalas Motip); 4th James O’Connell (BC Member); 5th Jacob Avery (Ride Revolution); 6th Jake Hales (Ride Revolution); 7th Sebastian Gary (Kalas Motip); 8th Monte Guerrini (Le Col RT); 9th Tobias Daulhaus (Foran CCC); 10th Simon Skinner (Paceline RT); 11th Ethan Rowell (University of Bath); 12th Lance Childs (TAAP Endura); 13th Alexander Spiers (TAAP Endura); 14th Timothy Torrie (Train Sharp Elite); 15th Benjamin (Hellebo Wheelsuckers); 16th Clay Davies (Ride Revolution); 17th George Mitchell (Foran CC); 18th Alex Cross (Velo Schils); 19th Colin Ward (Essex Roads CC); 20th Oliver Hurdle (Stolen Goat); 21st Adam Robertson (Ride Revolution); 22nd Harvey Macgartre (TAAP Endura); 23rd Louis Digance; Jeremy Perks; Frank Longstaff; Andrew Kerr; Phil Williams; Mark Richards; Dominic Schils; Charlie Mactear; Harley Matthews; Rhys Howells and Kieron Jarvis – all at 1 lap

It incorporated the 2023 ECCA Senior and Junior Road Race Championships. The last time the club promoted this event was 1972, using the West Hanningfield circuit, when Sid Lovatt (Finsbury Park CC) was the winner. Mick Gibson (Maldon & District CC) won the Junior title. Colin Ward (Essex Road CC) is the new ECCA Road Race champion.

Thanks very much for everybody that helped. Without your support it wouldn’t happen - Trevor Mills.

The Roll of Honour appears below.

Download the 2022 Race programme here. 

bottom of page