top of page

The Florrie Newbery Classic

Southend Wheelers are proud to present the first Florrie Newbery Classic

Ignite your competitive spirit and experience the thrill of pushing your limits in a race where every twist and turns brings you closer to victory!  This isn't just a race - it's a celebration of strength, unity, and the unstoppable force of women in cycling.


So, saddle up, because the road to glory awaits!

Event details


East Hanningfield Village Hall, The Tye, CM3 8AE


Sunday 28th April 2024


Race starts at 2pm


Regional A (Female) Open to senior and junior female 2nd, 3rd and 4th category riders with a full racing licence or holders of a day licence.


£400 prize pot with £100 for the winner

Now accepting entries until Sunday 21st April

The Course

The Florrie Newbery Classic will be 10 laps of the East Hanningfield Road Race Circuit with the finish on the last lap at the top of the rise on Pan Lane.

Who is Florrie Newbery?

Florrie Newbery was the first female to join Southend Wheelers back on 3rd February 1937.  Florrie went on to lead many club runs, generate interest for local female riders to join and compete in Time Trials.  When starting a new Female Road Race, we wanted to honour the start of Female riders in the club. Florrie was also the first female committee member.

A Classic? It's the first race...

It's a bold claim to call a race a Classic from the start but at Southend Wheelers, we pride ourselves on our unwavering commitment to fostering inclusivity and diversity within the exhilarating world of cycling.

We've dedicated ourselves to creating a supportive and empowering event where female cyclists can thrive each and every year moving forward.


Our commitment extends beyond the podium, as we champion equality, celebrate achievements, and pave the way for a future where women's racing takes center stage. Join us on this exciting journey, where every pedal stroke is a testament to the strength, resilience, and boundless potential of women in cycling. With Southend Wheelers, the road to success is wide open, and we're here to guide you every step of the way.

Some of the club Female competitors at our annual awards evening

Winner of the 2023 Andrews Trophy, Joe Brooks (Halesowen C&AC) winning in style on the same course

bottom of page