top of page
Writtle College Lawn.jpg

CTT National 50 mile TT Championships

incorporating the annual Norman Wells Memorial 50 mile TT

Sunday 2nd July 2023

We are celebrating our centenary by promoting the Cycling Time Trials National 50-mile time trial championship in Chelmsford. It will incorporate our annual Norman Wells 50-mile time trial event. The Norman Wells Trophy has been raced for since 1964, but our first open 50 was in 1926. The last time we promoted a National TT championship was 1985!


The Race HQ will be at Writtle University College Lordship Road, CM1 3RR  (motto: Time Tries the Truth in Everything), and the imposing façade of the University, and the lawn at the front allows us to have a TT Start village, with exhibitors taking gazebo space, and riders and teams also allocated warm up space on the lawns. If you want to exhibit in the TT Start Village, further information available here.

Start time is 07:00hrs

We will be inviting former RTTC/CTT National 50-mile champions and 50 mile record holders to the event for fans to meet. Previous champions, team champions and record holders are listed  in pdf. format at bottom of this page. We will also be inviting past winners of the Norman Wells 50 mile TT to the championships. They are in pdf format below.

If you are a former 50 mile champion, record holder or Norman Wells 50 TT winner download your invite here, and if you wish to attend, please reply by e mail here. The first champion to be invited is Southend Wheeler Pete Jackson, the old living men's champion at 96. He won his title 70 years ago in 1953. The second invite went to another Wheeler Paul Hart, 50 mile comp record holder in 2018!


Broadcaster and journalist Michael Hutchinson (and 13 times National 50 champion)  is the MC & host for the events, and will announce the medal winners and the women’s and men’s individual and team champions. Fans can meet him in the TT village.

Dr Hutch action.jpg

Some details are missing from these lists. If you can fill in the missing information, please e mail here. Much of the information was provided by Chris Minto and Keith Harrod. Sincere thanks to both of them for their expert knowledge.

Previous winners of the RTTC/CTT National 50 mile championship and competition record holders

CTT Small logo.png
WUC 130 Shield CMYK_edited_edited.jpg
bottom of page