Southend v Chelmer Interclub 25 mile time trial

The Bob Haworth team trophy was won by the Wheelers for the 28th time in our annual Interclub with Chelmer CC on Sunday 7th August on the E.9 course, totalling 56 events since the competition was joined by the Chelmer in 1966. The competition first started in 1933, with various clubs joining and leaving the competition, and now it’s just Chelmer v Southend.

Dan Jenkins, Barry Simpson, Jan Harvey-Burns and Paul Gribbon combined for an aggregate time of 4:16:47. This is the first time the Wheelers have had a woman member in the winning line up.

There is also the Bob Haworth Cup for the fastest individual rider on the day which was David Harding (Chelmer CC) for his 2nd victory in as many years with 55:11.

35 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Canewdon will be closed this Sunday as it’s the London to Southend Bike Ride. Look out on Club FB page for news of ride colours and destinations, and ride leader requests!

The Reunion Lunch will be held at the usual venue at the Skylark Hotel, Aviation Way, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6UN on Sunday 6th November. Post Covid has seen a price increase this year to £33:00 per head,